Dry river the project that led to Visite à Okavango

A dry river sounds like a contradiction in terms. We think of a river, a waterway, as the ultimate original source. A source of life that carries with it a flow of microorganisms — and thus life itself. That which is dry is by no means devoid of life; nevertheless, its matter is heading towards an abrupt decline. The notion of a dry river is therefore absurd. 
It is this very absurdity the artist examines here, for it is more evocative than a thousand explanations. A dry river is a perfect metaphor for the course of a civilization: birth-apogee-decline. After all, antiquity’s first four river valley civilizations (Egypt, Mesopotamia, India, and China) were able to grow by relying on larger water currents. These maritime sources fostered their expansion and extended their zone of influence. 

Amine El Gotaibi, Dry river, project since 2007

When Amine El Gotaibi peered into a river, he saw the reflection of the nation-state. This led to questions about its organization, for as soon as a civilization develops, so does a form of State power. The contemporary State has a territory, a government, and a population. It is this organization that holds the legitimate political, legal, and tax power within its borders. Driven by his characteristic passion, El Gotaibi recreated mock-ups of rivers in the middle of nature. He dug grooves in the earth or sand in which he placed small white figurines. Using photography and a demiurgic gesture, he created scale models that gave him a wide range of artistic expression. The figurines became characters that reappeared in a variety of civilizational configurations. His use of natural materials here represented a pivotal stage in his work. 
Those initial steps in 2007 eventually led him to the Okavango Delta, the birthplace of Homo sapiens. Isn’t it troubling to know that we originated in this region where water empties into the desert? 

Elisa Ganivet 

Territoire National

1/3

Views on the participative artwork : Attorab Al Watani (Territoire national) 2016. Work done on the entire Morocco 

In 2016, a monumental project, At-torab al Watani/ National Territory explores the meaning of the phrase «etching one’s place in history» by combining performance, sculpture, photography and video. In order to finalize this work, El Gotaibi travels across the twelve regions of Morocco, according to the official breakdown. He digs his own name in gigantic letters in the earth, eight hours a day, 

scrupulously observing a wage earner’s daily working hours. Through this labour, the artist extracts soil samples from each region out of which he builds a rammed earth construction, spelling out At-torab al Watani (National Territory), covering a seventeen meter surface. Resistance, perseverance, inscribing his name as an immanent and intimate trace, El Gotaibi explores anew the battle of the individual against the forces which marginalize him and deprive him of his right to fulfillment and creation.


Brahim Oulahyane

Ba Moyi Ya Afrika

Though Amine El Gotaibi had planned to travel overland to sub-Saharan Africa for his project Visite à Okavango, which he imagined back in 2011, an invitation from the 2019 Young Congo Biennale short-circuited and stimulated his deepest aspirations. So he let himself be carried by the flow, energy, generosity, and rhythm of the place. This monumental installation emerged directly from that experience.

1/3

 Ba moyi ya afrika. Monumental installation at the Young Congo Biennial, 2019

It is made of a seemingly rough frame with thirty-three spotlights attached to it. There could have been fifty-four, as many as there are countries on the continent.
Through its ultra-contemporary aesthetic structure, El Gotaibi’s installation is a response to how colonizing forces shaped Africa. This violence was inherent in the impunity of their conquest, their cruel domination over battered lands and individuals, and of course the imposition of a discourse that sought annihilation. Ba Moyi Ya Afrika is a powerful reclaiming of a unifying pan-African discourse through Art. In the distance, the reminiscence of the sun evokes an obvious metaphor: Africa, the Africas are lit from within and create their own light. 


Elisa Ganivet 

Sun(w)hole_Piece Cradle 1

Reclaiming tragic events allows us to better divert them from their essence. The power of the artist’s creative act moves us and undermines many of our preconceptions. In the South African landscape, the scars of apartheid are still visible. And they are revived by the general state of a world in which porous geopolitical borders are becoming tangibly hermetic. Amine El Gotaibi sought to counter this disenchantment through his work in the Nirox Foundation’s prestigious sculpture park, at the invitation of Marta Moriarty. His first inaugural wall, Piece cradle 1, is 15 meters long and 4 meters high. From a distance, this intriguing structure made of rammed earth is a parable reminding us of the need for civic and environmental vigilance. Up close, the wall-object reflects a transcendental ideal. 

1/3

Sun(w)hole_Piece Cradle 1, Sculpture park of the Nirox Foundation,

South Africa, 2020.

Its position high on the hill has a calming effect. But after the agitation comes release, because the wall has a hole drilled in its center that serves to guide and showcase the sun’s rays at dawn and sunset. Following the path of these rays leads us back to our own emancipation. This liberatory escape is no longer hidden but revealed. El Gotaibi engages with what is truly meaningful, much like Beuys who wisely reminded us that the Berlin Wall was not important at all. What mattered most was our own introspections around the meaning of Art and Life.


Elisa Ganivet 

infovisite.a.okavango@gmail.com

+212 6 61 94 72 77

---------------

All rights reserved © 2019

Visite à Okavango is a project labelled African Capitals of Culture 2020 integrating multi-year programming.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

Rivière sèche projet genèse 
de Visite à Okavango

Une rivière sèche sonne un antagonisme à tout crin. On présuppose qu’une rivière, un cours d’eau, est le comble d’une source originelle. Une source de vie qui apporte son flux de microorganismes, et par-là la vie même. Ce qui est sec n’est nullement dépourvu de vie, néanmoins la matière tend vers une abrupte atrophie. Une rivière sèche est donc un non-sens. 


C’est de cette absurdité comme exception dont il est question. Car elle prévaut à mille explications. Une rivière sèche est la parfaite métaphore de l’articulation d’une civilisation : naissance-apogée-déclin. Car si les quatre premières civilisations fluviales de l’Antiquité, soit l’Egypte ; la Mésopotamie, l’Inde et la Chine ont réussi à s’accroître, c’est précisément en se nourrissant de courants plus larges. L’horizon maritime a favorisé leur extension et zone d’influence. 

Amine El Gotaibi, Rivière sèche, projet depuis 2007

En se penchant au bord d’une rivière, Amine El Gotaibi y a détecté le reflet du concept de l’Etat-Nation. La question est à l’ordonnancement des dispositifs car dès qu’il y a eu civilisation il y a eu une forme d’Etat. L’État contemporain dispose d’un territoire, d’un gouvernement et d’une population. C’est l’organe légitime de pouvoir politique, juridique et fiscal au sein de ses frontières. Passionné comme à son habitude, El Gotaibi reconstituait en pleine nature des maquettes de rivières. Il creusait des sillons dans la terre ou le sable afin d’y disposer des petites figurines blanches. Grâce à l’outil photographique et par un geste démiurge, ses modèles réduits lui offraient une amplitude de mise en scène. Les figurines devenues alors personnages se répètent en une multitude civilisationnelle. Ce travail sur la matière terrestre est une étape charnière dans son œuvre. D’une genèse de 2007, on ricoche sur le Delta de l’Okavango qui serait finalement le berceau de l’Homo Sapiens. N’est-il pas troublant de se dire que nous proviendrions exactement de cette région où l’eau se déverse en plein désert ? 

Elisa Ganivet 

Territoire National

1/3

Attorab Al Watani (Territoire National), 2016. 

En 2016, un projet monumental Attorab al watani/Territoire national explore l’expression « graver son nom dans l’histoire » au moyen de la performance, la sculpture, la photographie et la vidéo. Pour le réaliser, El Gotaibi parcourt les douze régions du Maroc, selon le découpage officiel. Il creuse dans la terre son propre nom en lettres gigantesques, huit heures par jour,

respectant ainsi scrupuleusement les horaires de travail quotidien d’un travailleur. De ce labeur, l’artiste récupère des échantillons de terre de chacune des régions avec lesquels il construit une installation en pisé, écrivant « Attorab al watani » (Territoire national) sur une surface de dix-sept mètres. Résistance, persévérance, inscription de son nom comme une trace immanente et intime, El Gotaibi explore une nouvelle fois la lutte de l’individu contre les forces qui le marginalisent et le privent de son droit à l’épanouissement et à la création.


Brahim Oulahyane

Ba Moyi Ya Afrika

Alors qu’il pensait aller à la rencontre de l’Afrique subsaharienne par voie terrestre pour son projet Visite à Okavango visionné en 2011, l’invitation de la Young Congo Biennale de 2019 a court-circuité et réconforté ses aspirations les plus profondes. Amine El Gotaibi put alors se laisser porter par le flux, l’énergie, la générosité et le rythme du lieu. Cette installation monumentale en est la conséquence directe.

1/3

 Ba moyi ya afrika. Installation monumentale a la Biennale Young Congo, 2019 

Elle est constituée d’une armature d’apparence brute à laquelle sont arrimés trente-trois spots. Ils auraient pu être cinquante-quatre comme autant de pays que comprend le continent.

Dans son volume esthétique ultra contemporain, l’installation d’El Gotaibi est une réponse aux façonnages de l’Afrique par les mains colonisatrices. Cette violence est inhérente à l’impunité de ses conquêtes, à ses cruelles dominations sur les terres et individus rendus exsangues et bien sûr à l’imposition d’un discours visant à anéantir. Avec Ba Moyi Ya Afrika, la réappropriation d’un discours fédérateur panafricain par l’Art est puissante. Au loin, la réminiscence du soleil nous interpelle sur l’évidente métaphore: l’Afrique, les Afriques s’illuminent d’elles-mêmes et par elles-mêmes.


Elisa Ganivet 

Sun(w)hole_Piece Cradle 1

S’approprier des événements tragiques permet de mieux les détourner de leur essence. La force du geste créateur de l’artiste met en émoi et déstabilise grand nombre de nos a priori. En ces terres d’Afrique du Sud, les stigmates de l’Apartheid sont évidents. Ils sont ravivés par l’état global d’un monde où la frontière poreuse géopolitique se transforme en un hermétisme tangible. Au prestigieux parc de sculptures de la Nirox Foundation, sur invitation de Marta Moriarty, Amine El Gotaibi prend le contre-pied de ce désenchantement. Ce premier mur inaugural Piece cradle 1 mesure 15 mètres de long et 4 mètres de hauteur. L’œuvre en terre pisé intrigue, Perçue de loin, c’est une parabole qui peut être un rappel quant à notre vigilance citoyenne et environnementale. De près, l’objet-mur est ramené à un idéal transcendantal. Son élévation sur cette colline exerce en nous un effet d’apaisement.

1/3

Sun(w)hole_Piece Cradle 1, Parc de sculptures de la Nirox Foundation, 

Afrique du Sud, 2020. 

Après l’agitation vient le lâcher-prise car le mur est percé d’un trou en son milieu. Ainsi les rayons lumineux de l’aube et du coucher du soleil sont guidés et mis en valeur. Leur suivi nous renvoie à notre propre affranchissement. L’échappée libératoire n’a plus lieu d’être cachée mais au contraire révélée. El Gotaibi s’engage dans ce qui fait réellement sens. A l’instar de Beuys qui nous rappelait sagement que le mur de Berlin n’avait aucune espèce d’importance. Ce qui primait était le labeur de notre propre introspection entre l’Art et la Vie.


Elisa Ganivet 

infovisite.a.okavango@gmail.com

+212 6 61 94 72 77 

---------------

Tous droits réservés ©2019

Visite à Okavango Visite à Okavango est un projet labellisé Capitales Africaines de la Culture  2020 intégrant la programmation pluriannuelle.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc