THE TEAM - Artistic Direction

Julia Jane Amine G Artwork 2020-69.jpg

Amine El Gotaibi

Visual artist

Amine El Gotaibi graduated from the National Institute of Fine Arts of Tetouan in 2008 and has become an iconic member of the Moroccan contemporary art scene. The artist incorporates a variety of disciplines into his large-scale projects that cross both space and time, while also using traditional forms: drawing, video, painting, installation, mechanical engineering, and travel.  These all serve as the foundation for Visit à Okavango.  
In early 2020, during a residency at the Nirox Foundation in South Africa (not far from Okavango), Amine El Gotaibi created a sort preamble to this project, the ambitious Sun(W)hole_piece cradle 1: a meter-long mud wall pierced with a hole that represented an appeal to rise above inertia. In October 2019, during the Young Congo Biennial, he created an original monumental installation, Ba moyi ya afrika (The Suns of Africa), composed of a dozen spotlights — like suns illuminating the continent. This was an extension of explorations around questions of territory he began in 2016 with Attorab Al Watani (National Territory), a participatory work extending across all of Morocco that he presented during the COP22 in Marrakech.  
This examination of the geopolitical relationship between territories allows the artist to tackle the universality of submission, as shown in several of his exhibitions: Perspective de brebis (2018), developed during the Al Maqam residency; and Perspective de séduction (2019), created during a residency at Dar Moulay Ali, a historic palace and former French military headquarters under the protectorate.
His works, which are generally immersive, poetically question hegemonic powers, such as La prédation ne croit pas à la mort! (2012) — presented during the inauguration of the Mohammed VI Museum in Rabat in 2014.  The Arab Spring gave rise to Arène de la soumission (2014), supported by the Arab Fund for Arts and Culture starting in 2012. This project attracted the attention of the Arab World Institute, which provided the funding needed for its completion and included it in the Contemporary Morocco exhibition in 2014. 


www.amineelgotaibi.com

Faisal   BEN

Movie director

After ten years spent in the army, it was in the cinema that Faiçal Ben found freedom of expression. His philosophical vision,his mastering of techniques and constant fieldwork have allowed him to rate among the most talented young Moroccan filmmakers.
Faiçal has directed two experimental films: Décalage (2015) and Confusion (2016), and a first short fiction film Alter Ego (2016) with Younes Bouab in the leading role. Ales is his second short film. He is currently participating as director in the 2nd edition of Shoot Your Face.
Currently, he is finishing the filming of  the feature-length documentary Cercles and in the process of post-producing his third short film Femme à Clefs (2019). Faiçal is also preparing the script for his first feature film Barzakh, which was selected during the writing-in-residency Meditalents (2018), at the Rabat International Authors’ Film Festival and at Global Media Makers & Independent Film in 2019. 

vimeo.com/filmsbeldiproduction

Elisa GANIVET

Curator

Élisa Ganivet holds a PhD in philosophy, is an Art Historian and Arts Manager. She began her career in 2003, co-producing art exhibitions including: Rembrandt: An inspiration for Goya; Calder: form and dream; Picasso: Hommage to a bullfighter; Miró: garden of wonders; and Passionate Dali.
Her research in Aesthetics explores the mechanisms of utopian ideas and practice via field studies, as The Utopian City in India; Spain in the post-Franco Era; Berlin Gentrification, and Inspiration in Tangier.
Based on her PhD, her books: Esthétique du mur géopolitique, PUQ 2015, Border Wall Aesthetics: Artworks in Border Spaces, Transcript Verlag 2019 examine the historical and contemporary attachment of a hundred artists to  the concept of the border wall. Ms Ganivet presented her analysis on national French radio channels (France Culture, France Inter) and at  La Colonie Cultural Centre (Paris). She is a member of the Borders in Globalization Review Committee at the University of Victoria (Canada). Her essays have been published by Québec University Press; Presses du Réel; the Transart Institute; the Grimm Museum Publications in Berlin and she is recently writing for Artpress.
Elisa works as a consultant and independent curator with private collectors, museums and cultural institutes (Berlin, Barcelona, New York). She collaborated in the development of Kader Attia’s editorial line, a Franco-Algerian artist, around the notions of Repair and postcolonial issues.

www.elisaganivet.com

Rachid BENYAAGOUB

Designer artist

Rachid Benyaagoub graduated from the Tétouan National School of Fine Arts, where he has taught since 2010. He is a multidisciplinary artist whose work combines drawing, video, and installation. His visual and artistic approach lies at the crossroads between performance and consumption, focusing primarily on people’s relationship to technique and its social, cultural, and behavioral manifestations in order to question capitalism’s specular illusions.
Starting with his work Marocode (2013), he challenged the contemporaneity of a world torn between tradition and modernity, using embroidery and the QR code to create a flag that is both sublime and ambiguous. Enjoy your show (2015) aims to reframe all that has escaped framing so far, not to revive marketing tactics, but rather to understand and deconstruct them to create a pictorial purgatory of the transition towards a society that is free from the spectacle and its simulacra. A sort of re-examination that he carefully developed in his Tamis VR installation (2020).
Technological changes, along with the digital, modern, and contemporary narratives that have obsessed our civilization since the beginning of the third millennium, are at the heart of this artist’s explorations. 

www.rachidbenyaagoub.com

infovisite.a.okavango@gmail.com

+212 6 61 94 72 77

---------------

All rights reserved © 2019

Visite à Okavango is a project labelled African Capitals of Culture 2020 integrating multi-year programming.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

EQUIPE - Direction Artistique

Julia Jane Amine G Artwork 2020-69.jpg

Amine El Gotaibi

Artiste pluridisciplinaire 

Diplômé de l’Institut National des Beaux-Arts de Tétouan en 2008,  Amine El Gotaibi est une figure emblématique de la scène marocaine de l’art contemporain. L’artiste convoque toute discipline pour ses projets d’envergure dans l’espace et le temps et utilise tout aussi bien des médiums traditionnels : dessin, vidéo, peinture, installation comme l’ingénierie mécanique et le voyage. Aujourd’hui fondement qui répond à l’exigence de Visite à Okavango.
Début 2020 en préambule à ce projet, c’est en Afrique du Sud non loin d’Okavango, qu’Amine El Gotaibi alors résident à la fondation Nirox réalise l’ambitieux Sun(W)hole_piece cradle 1 : un mur en terre pisé de 15 mètres de long percé d’un trou comme un appel positif contre l’immobilisme. En octobre 2019 lors de la Biennale Young Congo, son installation monumentale Ba moyi ya afrika (Les soleils d’Afrique) est une œuvre originale composée d’une dizaine de projecteurs - tels des soleils qui illuminent le continent. Ce qui s’institue comme prolongement à sa réflexion amorcée en 2016 sur la notion des territoires avec Attorab Al Watani (Territoire National) : une œuvre participative s’étendant sur l’ensemble des régions du Maroc et présentée à Marrakech lors de la COP22.
L’articulation géopolitique des territoires permet à l’artiste d’aborder le commun universel de la soumission comme en témoignent ses expositions : Perspective de brebis (2018), développée à la résidence Al Maqam, et Perspective de séduction (2019), fruit  d’une résidence  à Dar Moulay Ali, palais historique et ancien QG militaire français sous le protectorat.
Généralement immersifs, tel que La prédation ne croit pas à la mort ! (2012) – montrée lors de l’inauguration du Musée Mohammed VI à Rabat en 2014, ses œuvres interrogent poétiquement les pouvoirs hégémoniques. Ainsi, les Printemps arabes donnent naissance à Arène de la soumission (2014), subventionnée dès 2012 par l’Arab Fund for Arts and Cultures. Ce projet attira l’attention de l’Institut du Monde Arabe qui lui finalisa son financement et qui l’exposa durant « Le Maroc contemporain » en 2014. 

www.amineelgotaibi.com

Faiçal BEN

Cinéaste 

Après 10 années d’engagement à l’armée, Faiçal Ben a trouvé dans le 7ème Art toute sa liberté d’expression. Son œil philosophique, la maîtrise des techniques et son constant travail de terrain l’intègrent parmi les talentueux jeunes cinéastes marocains.
Faiçal a réalisé deux films expérimentaux: Décalage, 2015 et Confusion, 2016 et un premier court métrage fiction Alter Ego, 2016 avec Younes Bouab en premier rôle. Ales est son second court métrage. Il participe aujourd’hui en tant que réalisateur à la 2e édition de Shoot Your Face.
Actuellement, il termine le tournage du documentaire long-métrage Cercles, il est en post-production de son troisième court-métrage Femme à Clefs, 2019. Faiçal prépare l’écriture du scénario de son premier long métrage fiction Barzakh, sélectionné à la résidence d’écriture Méditalents en 2018, au Festival International du Film d’Auteur de Rabat et Global Media Makers & Independent film en 2019.
 

vimeo.com/filmsbeldiproduction

Elisa GANIVET

Commissaire 

Élisa Ganivet est docteure en philosophie, historienne de l’art et manager culturel. Elle a commencé sa carrière en 2003, organisant en coproduction des expositions d’art telles que Rembrandt : Une inspiration pour Goya, Calder: la forme et le rêve, Picasso : Hommage à un torero, Miró: jardin des merveilles, Dali passionné. Ses recherches en Esthétique explorent les mécanismes de l’idée et de la pratique utopique avec une approche directe sur le terrain : cité utopique en Inde, Espagne postfranquiste, gentrification berlinoise, inspiration à Tanger.
Basés sur sa thèse, ses ouvrages: Esthétique du mur géopolitique, PUQ 2015, Border Wall Aesthetics : Artworks in Border Spaces, Transcript Verlag 2019, interrogent l’attachement historique et contemporain d’artistes au concept du mur frontière. Elisa a présenté ses travaux sur France Culture, France Inter et à La Colonie de Paris. Elle fait partie du Comité Borders in Globalization Review de l’Université de Victoria, Canada. Elle a été publiée aux Presses Universitaires du Québec, aux Presses du Réel, au Transart Institut, aux Editions du Grimm Museum de Berlin et écrit depuis peu pour Artpress. 
Elisa exerce en tant que consultante et commissaire indépendante auprès de collectionneurs privés, d’instituts muséaux et culturels (Berlin, Barcelone, New-York). Elle a collaboré au développement de la ligne éditoriale de l’artiste franco-algérien Kader Attia autour des notions de Réparation et des enjeux postcoloniaux.

www.elisaganivet.com

Rachid BENYAAGOUB

Artiste designer 

Diplômé de l’Institut National des Beaux-Arts de Tétouan, où il enseigne le depuis 2010, Rachid Benyaagoub est un artiste qui allie la pratique du dessin, de la vidéo et de l’installation. Au croisement du spectacle et de la consommation, il s’engage dans une approche visuelle et plastique, principalement axée autour du rapport de l’être à la technique et ses manifestations sociales, culturelles et comportementales; questionnant les illusions spéculaires du capitalisme.
Dès son travail intitulé Marocode  2013, il interpelle la contemporanéité d’une terre déchirée entre tradition et modernité, et cela en faisant appel aux techniques de la broderie et du QR code pour en faire un drapeau à la fois sublime et ambigu. Enjoy your show  2015 vient recadrer ce qui ne cesse jusqu’ici d’échapper aux cadres, non pas pour réactiver les tactiques mercatiques, mais pour les cerner et les déconstruire, pour forger un purgatoire pictural de transit vers l’avènement d’une société libérée du spectacle et ses simulacres. Une sorte de mise à plat qu’il développe soigneusement dans son installation Tamis VR  2020.
Les mutations technologiques ainsi que les récits numériques, modernes et contemporaines, qui obsèdent notre civilisation depuis le début du troisième millénaire constituent le noyau de la réflexion de l’artiste. 

www.rachidbenyaagoub.com

infovisite.a.okavango@gmail.com

+212 6 61 94 72 77 

---------------

Tous droits réservés ©2019

Visite à Okavango Visite à Okavango est un projet labellisé Capitales Africaines de la Culture  2020 intégrant la programmation pluriannuelle.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc