AN AFRICAN
MULTI-DISCIPLINARY

JOURNEY

The vision for Visite à Okavango, a collective human and artistic experience, came to artist Amine El Gotaibi in 2011.
His reflections on the symbolism surrounding the river’s fertility took him to the Okavango Delta, the only river that ends in the desert. 
This geological exception, and the cradle of Homo sapiens, will give rise to a monumental artistic crossing covering some 30,000 km (9320 Miles) in 210 days.
Starting in September 2020, this Pan-African route will reveal alterity from Morocco to Botswana and the tip of South Africa.
On each border of the 16 countries crossed, a mobile team aboard a converted truck (made up of multidisciplinary artist Amine El Gotaibi, filmmaker-documentary maker Faiçal Ben, and a sound artist) will meet with a local artist to experience the reality of the journey and its surprises. The heart of the project is authentic conversations and liberation from norms through art.
As a long-term artistic platform and laboratory, Visite à Okavango will involve twenty or so local artists in connection with their African and international cultural operators. As the engine driving the adventure, the truck will be both a witness and a total work of art

THE RIVER

THAT NEVER FINDS

ITS SEA

In 2011, an investigation made by Amine El Gotaibi - who then became interested in the symbolism of the dry river, and its counterpart, the fertile river - led him to discover the Okavango river.


The Okavango is one of the few endorheic rivers in the world, not draining water into an ocean, sea or other river, but pouring into the Kalahari desert, in Botswana.


This discovery amazed the artist, who then felt a pressing need to visit Okavango, which has become a symbol of emancipation, of breaking the established norm and an absolute awakening to Alterity. 

ON THE TRACKS 
OF THE HISTORY
OF HUMANITY

Amazing fact: at the end of October 2019 some eminent researchers in genetics concluded that the fatherland of the modern Man would come precisely from the region of Makgadikgadi-Okavango. Homo sapiens took its source there 200,000 years ago then forced, he had to migrate to the North.


While at the other end of the continent, it is precisely in Morocco, on the prehistoric site Djebel Irhoud that the pre-origins of Homo sapiens have been attested. Thus, on the way to the river that has never found its sea, Visit to Okavango also takes the form of an initiatory journey, in the footsteps of our origins.

DSC05940
DSC05796
DSC05909
DSC05902
DSC05866

FOCUS

Human experience
Rich reality
Artistic encounters
African dialogue
Synergies
Sharing of ideas
Artistic engagement
Creative essence
Collective mobilization
Liberation from norms
Crossing borders

 

OBJECTIVES

Visite à Okavango is a destination as much as a collaborative path on the scale of the African continent, generating alternately the essence of human values.
The heart of Visite à Okavango is based on experiences and artistic encounters. Artists will cross the continent according to this perspective of multiple discoveries and cohesion through creation. Crossing borders means meeting geopolitical, geographic, social, cultural and artistic hotspots. Go there to better understand, experience this reality and open it up: a resistance through art. The landscapes to be lived are geological and hugely human. As a platform Visite à Okavango invites local artists who are aware and committed to their own country and who are not known outside their borders. The commitment goes through their cultural relays and the strengthening of the pan-African network. International relays will report on this dialogue. Visite à Okavango realizes a collective artwork through the single act of crossing. The truck conveys a positive message as much as it conveys an artwork as such.

THE TEAM

Artistic direction

Elisa Ganivet

Curator

.......... .............

Sound Artist

Rachid Benyaagoub 

Designer Artist

Faiçal Ben

Movie Director

Amine El Gotaibi 

Visual Artist

infovisite.a.okavango@gmail.com

+212 6 61 94 72 77

---------------

All rights reserved © 2019

Visite à Okavango is a project labelled African Capitals of Culture 2020 integrating multi-year programming.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

TRAVERSÉE 
AFRICAINE
PLURIDISCIPLINAIRE 

Expérience humaine collective et artistique inédite sur tout le continent africain, Visite à Okavango est la vision de l’artiste Amine El Gotaibi survenue à lui en 2011.
Sa réflexion autour de la symbolique de la fertilité du fleuve l’a amené au Delta de l’Okavango, unique courant qui se déverse dans le désert.
Cette exception géologique et berceau de l’Homo Sapiens va générer une traversée artistique colossale de quelques 30000 km sur 210 jours.
Démarrant en septembre 2020, le chemin panafricain est un éveil à l’altérité s’opérant depuis le Maroc jusqu’au Botswana et qui conduira à l’extrémité de l’Afrique du Sud.
A la lisière de chaque frontière des 16 pays, l’équipe mobile à bord du camion aménagé, composée de l’artiste pluridisciplinaire Amine El Gotaibi, du cinéaste-documentariste Faiçal Ben et d’un artiste sonore, rencontrera un artiste local pour partager ensemble la réalité du parcours et ses imprévus. Le cœur de l’énergie du projet est l’authenticité des échanges et la libération des normes par l’art.
En tant que plateforme et laboratoire artistique sur du long terme, Visite à Okavango invite une vingtaine d’artistes locaux en relais avec leurs opérateurs culturels africains et internationaux. Le camion dynamiseur de l’aventure jouera comme témoin et œuvre d’art totale.

LE FLEUVE 

QUI NE TROUVE JAMAIS 

SA MER

En 2011, les recherches d’Amine El Gotaibi - qui s’intéresse alors à la symbolique de la rivière sèche, et de son pendant, la rivière fertile - l’amène à découvrir l’Okavango.
L’Okavango est un des rares fleuves endoréiques au monde, c’est-à-dire qui ne se déverse ni dans un océan, ni dans une mer, ni dans un autre fleuve, cependant, il est le seul à se jeter en plein désert, le Kalahari, au Botswana.
Cette découverte bouleverse l’artiste marocain qui, dès lors, ressent l’impérieux besoin de rendre visite à Okavango, devenu symbole d’émancipation, libérateur des normes et éveil absolu à l’altérité. 

SUR LES TRACES 
DE L’HISTOIRE 
DE L’HUMANITÉ

Fait vertigineux: fin octobre 2019 d’éminents chercheurs en génétique ont conclu que la patrie de l’Homme moderne proviendrait précisément de la région de Makgadikgadi Okavango. L’Homo sapiens y pris sa source il y a 200 000 ans puis contraint, il dut migrer vers le Nord.Tandis qu’à l’autre bout du continent, c’est précisément au Maroc, sur le site préhistorique Djebel Irhoud, qu’ont été attestées les préorigines de l’Homo sapiens. Ainsi, en cheminant jusqu’au fleuve qui n’a jamais trouvé sa mer, Visite à Okavango prend également l’allure d’un voyage initiatique, sur les traces de nos origines.

DSC05940
DSC05796
DSC05909
DSC05902
DSC05866

FOCUS

Expérience humaine
Riche réalité
Rencontres artistiques
Dialogue africain
Synergies
Partage d’idées
Engagement artistique
Essence créative
Mobilisation collective
Libération des normes
Traverser des Frontières

 

OBJECTIFS

Visite à Okavango est une destination tout autant qu’un chemin collaboratif à l’échelle du continent africain, générant tour à tour l’essentiel des valeurs humaines.
Le cœur de Visite à Okavango est l’expérience et les rencontres artistiques. Les artistes traverseront le continent dans cette optique de découvertes multiples et de cohésion par la création. Traverser des frontières signifie aller à l’encontre de points névralgiques : géopolitiques, géographiques, sociaux, culturels et artistiques. S’y rendre pour mieux comprendre, vivre cette réalité et la décloisonner : une résistance par l’art. Les paysages à vivre sont géologiques et immensément humains. Comme plateforme Visite à Okavango invite des artistes locaux conscients et engagés pour leur pays, non connus en dehors de leurs frontières. L’engagement passe par leurs relais culturels et le renforcement du maillage panafricain. Des relais internationaux rendront compte de ce dialogue. Visite à Okavango réalise une œuvre collective par l’unique acte de la traversée. Le camion véhicule et fait véhiculer un message positif qui sera à son tour œuvre d’art. 

EQUIPE

 Direction Artistique 

Elisa Ganivet

Commissaire

.......... .............

Artiste sonore

Rachid Benyaagoub 

Artiste designer

Faiçal Ben

Cinéaste

Amine El Gotaibi 

Artiste pluridisciplinaire

infovisite.a.okavango@gmail.com

+212 6 61 94 72 77 

---------------

Tous droits réservés ©2019

Visite à Okavango Visite à Okavango est un projet labellisé Capitales Africaines de la Culture  2020 intégrant la programmation pluriannuelle.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc